Reviews

8.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.5
Comfort
7.7
Property location
9.2
Facilities
7.9
Staff
8.8
Value
8.6

Reviews

    Irvin
    mx

    Review score

    6.7
    12 April 2018

    Dirty bathroom

    Come and it's all dirty and the bathroom worse
    The owner is very friendly and helps you
    Yetian
    cn

    Review score

    3.8
    4 April 2018

    I would not choose to stay at this hotel if I visit again to Da Tong.

    The bath room in the six-bed room I stayed does not have good water circulation system, the used water all gathers on the floor, could not go down, probably has been for a while, it was smelly and dirty and humid. Plus the shower holder was broken, so you have to hold it by yourself, and the shower pipe also was broken, so the water was not concentrated, it was not a convenient at all during and after shower, especially the floor was so dirty. And the hostel has two dogs, very smelly and poop at the carridor, the staff was shoutng at them sometimes regardless the guests were sitting by at the lobby. I got very allegic on my skin after the stay.
    It locates at very central area of Datong, access to the old town, walking street easily
    Majan
    cn

    Review score

    8.8
    16 March 2018
    Wonderful experience. Really helpful!
    Caroline
    de

    Review score

    8.3
    5 March 2018
    It's beeing renovated at the moment, but once it's done it'll be awesome!
    Best Hostel! The owner is so nice and really helpful! The staff is also very friendly and helpful! Couldn't have managed such a nice trip without their help! Also check out their hostel in Wutai shan! Thanks to them i was able to go there too!
    Alejandro
    es

    Review score

    7.1
    29 September 2017

    It was a good place. Nothing fancy but really a nice to stay if you travel on a budget

    fr

    Review score

    5.4
    22 September 2017
    Toilets and shower were dirty. Music from nearby square will wake you up early
    Well located
    Halema
    my

    Review score

    7.9
    17 September 2017

    Relax like at home

    Toilet
    Good location and friendly staff
    Dieter36
    be

    Review score

    8.8
    31 August 2017
    It's nicely integrated in a typical Chinese house, with a cosy living room. They suggest you nice itineraries & have good contacts with local taxi drivers to get you to the nice sightseeing spots in the environment.
    NIEN YU
    tw

    Review score

    10
    27 August 2017

    It was a great experience to stay in an ancient Chinese style building.

    the property do not provide toilet paper.
    Helpful staff, the Chinese style architecture and friendly big cute dog.
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    24 August 2017

    Amazing

    Great staff. Good common area for solo travelers to meet others.
    GioEp
    it

    Review score

    7.5
    18 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marta
    pl

    Review score

    6.7
    9 August 2017
    The staff doesn't speak English, they initially asked for a higher price than the one indicated on booking.com and as we refused to pay more they ask us to leave. It required the boss intervention to clarify the situation. Shared bathrooms are really unpleasant but it is for dormitory that doesn't even have walls, just curtains. Our room had a separate bathroom but as all windows go out to the common area it is really loud till very late. Bed was extremely hard, it felt like the mattress was missing
    Amazing location, by the main pedestrian street. Really pleasant district!
    gb

    Review score

    6.2
    7 August 2017

    Lovely staff but bad rooms, wouldn't recommend!

    The bathroom was in the same room as the bedroom so it was really inappropriate, and our room was in the communal area with a window that covered the entire length of the wall which meant we needed the curtains closed all the time especially because of the bathroom! The bed was incredibly uncomfortable thank god we were only there for one night probably got about 3 hours sleep because of it.
    Good location, really helpful staff when it came to sorting out a trip too.
    Fabian
    de

    Review score

    7.9
    5 August 2017
    They close the door at 11 pm. If you come later, even if you told them, you can't get in and you need to sleep anywhere else or on the street. There are only eastern toilettes and you need to bring your own paper with you.
    The house is historical. Staff can speak English and is friendly. The common room is a good place to be and to meet other people. Wifi is ok. I would stay there again.
    Seb Et Camille
    fr

    Review score

    7.9
    28 July 2017
    The bathroom is a little bit small as well as our 4 bed dorm.
    The location is excellent, in the old city. The manager was really friendly and helpful. the laundry ischeap.
    Jen
    gb

    Review score

    5.4
    26 July 2017

    Great location.

    The bed was ridiculously hard, the hostel was advertised as having air con in the rooms - it just had a fan which was broken and noisy. Even after reporting it, it was noisy and woke up many people in the hostel so I had to turn it off and not sleep as I was too hot. The hostel is also advertised as having sound proof! The rooms were located around the main communal area with single glazed windows so again, another error with the facility list.
    The staff were friendly and the location was good too.
    Valérie
    ch

    Review score

    8.8
    21 July 2017

    very friendly helpful staff and great location!

    it can get quiet noisy by night as the rooms are only seperates by curtains/ thin windwos towards the courtyard. the bed is quiet hard but even tough we a had a good sleep.
    the staff was very friendly, helpful anf spoke well english. the hostel had a nice atmosphere. they help you out with organizing grips to the sights around datong.
    Jessica
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    8 July 2017

    If you're looking for a good nights sleep - do not stay here

    I book private rooms in hostels because they are normally good value and I like hostels in China, but above all I value my privacy and getting a good night sleep without other people disturbing you. Do not bother staying here if you want a private room, go elsewhere. The double room was literally in the communal courtyard. Not only did the very large windows allow everyone to see into your room while sitting in the common room, but the curtains were a joke. They weren't big enough to cover the window and didn't block out any light. The lights in the common room stayed on as long as people were awake. The 3 nights I stayed here people were talking, laughing etc loudly right next to my bed with all the lights on at midnight. I was very annoyed. You book a private room for peace and quiet, not this. The room was 188 kuai per night which is expensive by Chinese standards. No towels were provided. Only one tiny roll of toilet paper was provided. When I asked for more the staff rustled up half a packet of tissues from the reception desk. The wifi barely worked, in any areas. There was no where to get breakfast in the area. Most places opened at 10, and only sold drinks anyway. Stock up on fruit and bread at the supermarket. Hard to get here by bus from train station. Taxi drivers will charge you 20 kuai to get there without meter, but on return to station using meter it's only 10 kuai
    Staff friendly, they let me check in at 7am when I'd just got off my sleeper train (much appreciated) Cool little 'fake' old town
    Chun Sin
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    6 July 2017

    Not bad

    Private rooms had no windows / ventilation. Toilet does not have any doors.
    Value for money, good location
    Roland
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    3 July 2017

    Charming little courtyard hostel

    There was no AC in our double room (despite this being advertised for our room when we booked) - there was an extractor fan in the bathroom so maybe something was lost in translation! There are also no locks from the outside of the private rooms.
    Excellent location for walking around the old town (and next to a square where a free opera was being performed, filled with local spectators!) Staff were v friendly. Great value for money.
Loading reviews